Mexican-style Dip

April 21, 2008 at 5:03 am Leave a comment

It’s Mexican because… um… salsa?

I remember my mom made this dip a lot to take to family gatherings, and I’ve tasted lots of versions of it over the years. I think most people have had something like it at least. Here’s my standard version. I used to scrape everything else off with a chip and just eat the cream cheese bottom, but all of it is really good.

Mexican-stylee dip
my variation

Bottom cream-cheese layer:

1 cup light cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup Fat free miracle whip (How is it fat free? What’s it made of?)
1 tsp chili powder
pinch of cayenne pepper to taste

Blend together the softened cream cheese and miracle whip (electric beaters make this easy), add spices.

Then pour on any kind of salsa and spread it around with a spoon. Then add:

1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/2 red pepper, 1/2 green pepper
about 2 tomatoes, chopped
1-2 green onion, finely chopped
(I don’t think I had onion last time but it’s good).

Serve with tortilla chips. Really great for having at a party, or all by yourself watching movies.

Entry filed under: Meals.

Peanut Butter Blondies Aww, mini cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


