Vanilla Bean Pancakes

February 4, 2008 at 12:24 am Leave a comment

When I went to Texas in December 2006 I visited the Penzeys store in Dallas. I love their spices so much and brought back tons of great stuff like my Vietnamese Cassia cinnamon and Madagascar vanilla beans. It took me over a year to use one of my beans. I was scared I’d ruin whatever I made with them and hate myself for it, but on New Year’s Eve I had a craving for some pancakes and I decided to break out the vanilla.
The pancake recipe I normally is actually called Griddle Cakes from Out of Old Nova Scotia Kitchens. They’re pretty thin, unlike the big cake-y pancakes that most restaurants serve. These are adapted from that base recipe with a few changes, including the vanilla.
pancakes
Vanilla Bean pancakes
2 eggs
2 1/4 cup milk
1/3 cup melted butter
vanilla bean

2 cups flour
4 tsp baking powder
3 tbsp brown sugar
some freshly grated nutmeg
pinch salt

I got the vanilla into these by letting the vanilla bean infuse into the milk first. Then you whisk the eggs with the milk and add the melted butter. Whisk or sift the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, then combine the two and gently stir the batter until almost smooth.

The pancakes turned out pretty well. However, vanilla bean is expensive, so if money is a factor just put in some vanilla extract – they’re still awesome pancakes. The vanilla flavour is really nice – not overpowering in a cheap, yellow, “french vanilla” ice cream kind of way, it’s subtle but great.

I served mine with vanilla bean whipped cream (used the same bean – you can re-use it  a few times. I made some vanilla sugar too), maple syrup and leftover raspberry sauce (from the cheesecake). I wish the camera had been able to pick up on the pretty vanilla specks better – but they looked really good, especially with the whipped cream.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Festive Chocolate-orange Cheesecake Eric’s Birthday Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


