Introducing…The Swedish Chef

February 4, 2008 at 5:01 am 1 comment

My friend Martin and I made cookies the other night. He was born and raised in Sweden, and he’s teaching me to speak Swedish while I teach him to cook. (Jag lär Martin att laga mat!)
Here he is stirring the cookie dough:
Martin

This time we made chocolate chip cookies with some neat chocolate chips I picked up around Christmas time that are white chocolate and milk chocolate swirls.
chocchips
The chips were really really pretty, so I was sad they didn’t show up in the cookie very much(maybe I should place one on top of each cookie next time?).
They tasted great though, very very sweet.
I adapted a standard chocolate chip cookie recipe for these, actually more than I intended to. I only had baking powder on hand in my dorm room (oddly enough), and neither store we visited to pick up eggs and milk had baking soda. So I found out that you can substitute baking powder for soda, but you have to use about 3 times as much. It’s recommended that you reduce the salt to make up for it though.
The cookies still came out a little flat, but they rose enough for me, and I didn’t have to wait until I found baking soda to bake.
Cookies
1 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated (white) sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda (or 3 tsp baking powder)
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
Cream the butter with the sugars, the eggs and the vanilla. Mix up the dry ingredients and then combine with the wet. Stir in the chocolate chips last. Bake at 375 F for about 8-12 minutes.
mugface2
The cookies didn’t last very long…we made 48, around 9:30pm, and none survived past midnight.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The snack that smiles back Curry-flower Soup

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. rachelle  |  February 20, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    i want those chocolate chips.

    and that toothy cheeky mug.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


